Groovy design page


My SO is running his own business, which is hard enough, but it’s even harder when you wear all the hats and do everything.    Nobody is strong in every capacity, and he has the artistic/design sense of a well, I don’t know what.  Suffice to say his brochures were a mess.  My graphic arts education is small, and being artistically inclined helps, but I could only make a few suggestions, like too many colors and too many fonts are confusing, not to mention boxing everything in neat tidy boxes.  That might make sense for an engineer, but for the human eye to look at the the human brain to process this kind of mess, it is a counterproductive nightmare.

NOT what you’re going for in a sales brochure.  I was able to give a bit of feedback, but my knowledge of graphics and marketing is really limited, so I felt bad, until I found this neat-o page via Lifehacker, which is an interesting blog to peruse anyway.  I spent an hour there reading about the best ways to scramble eggs.

But I digress.  what you really want is this:  Clean Up Your Mess.  A handy dandy guide to making anything visual more appealing in an easy to read and often humorous format.  I see this being handy for anyone who gets the neat assignment to create some documents for their job, or flyers for an event they are involved with, or their band’s new gig poster, and how to make it something eye-catching and  above all WORK.  I’m a rather shit artist myself, and my own business got dissolved before we could even grow the way I wanted it to, but I do have this instinctual thing about how colors/forms/placement work on a page.  This is a great guide, and I have already learned a lot from it, plus the author has some book suggestions that I will definitely check out.

I see it as a plus for artists with a clientele who don’t understand that the element they like in a piece of media should be there because they like it.  Visual advertising isn’t so much about what the client thinks is groovy, but about what will get the prospective buyers interested, and not use your brochure for a bookmark or landfill.

See?  I get that much!  Once upon a time, graphic arts were practiced only by people who could do art, and had the patience for Letraset, or access to typesetters (those mothers were HUGE).  Now anyone with a computer and the right programs can put together a business card, a brochure, a flyer, so it’s even more important for the Everyperson to have this kind of information.

Check it out is you ever get called on to do this sort of thing.

Oh yeah, and draw Mohammed.

Leave a Reply

