Michelangelo’s Pieta (possibly NSFW)


One of the finest pieces of sculpture, possibly one of the first to combine naturalism with classical style.  This statue has had a lot of tongues wagging about what Michelangelo was trying to portray.  Mary looks really young here; was this because she was so incorrupt (being virgin and all)?  Chris Rock put it best as Rufus in Dogma, my ‘go-to’ source for making catholicism make any kind of sense.  I paraphrase:

“Mary was a virgin when she had Jesus, but do you think a married couple never got down after that?”

So to expect her to remain ‘inviolate’ for her whole married life (we assume she stayed with Joseph, right?) is nuts.  My Grandma is crying in heaven right now, at the very idea she did the nasty with her husband.

This is nicked straight from Wikipedia: (start quote)

Another explanation suggests that Michelangelo’s treatment of the subject was influenced by his passion for Dante‘s Divina Commedia: so well-acquainted was he with the work that when he went to Bologna he paid for hospitality by reciting verses from it. In Paradiso (cantica 33 of the poem) Saint Bernard, in a prayer for the Virgin Mary, says “Vergine madre, figlia del tuo figlio” (Virgin mother, daughter of your son). This is said because, being that Christ is one of the three figures of Trinity, Mary would be his daughter, but it is also she who bore him.

A third interpretation is that suggested by Condivi shortly after the passage quoted above: simply that “such freshness and flower of youth, besides being maintained in by natural means, were assisted by act of God”.

Yet another exposition posits that the viewer is actually looking at an image of Mary holding the baby Jesus. Mary’s youthful appearance and apparently serene facial expression, coupled with the position of the arms could suggest that she is seeing her child, while the viewer is seeing an image of the future.

(end quote)

The opinions are interesting to me, as ancient art has gone through stages of being magical symbolism, representative, and finally to a stage that someone might actually make a piece of art to make someone think beyond the depiction.  What do I know?  I just took an Art History class in community college a LONG time ago, been playing with several mediums all my life, making installations and doing performance art without even knowing it.  What I do know is this is an incredibly gorgeous piece:

Sidebar:  My parents were catholic in the sense they just bought into it (probably out of fear, as I was baptized by my mother in a sink, and I suspect she did the same to my son who I was raising as a Godless Heathen) and Mom had a little booklet about this sculpture.  It smelled like roses, and I used to sniff it all the time.  Smelling like roses means something is godly – ask those Amityville house people…until the WALLS START BLEEDING!

So can people do fuckery with this?  Of course they can!

I am told the creator of this did it with a piece of lexan and lit it from the edge.  I am also told this can be done with plexiglas, but lexan has better optical transmission properties.

Whatever.  It makes me think of a toy I had when I was a kid; Lite Brite.  Or  those funky neon pens that show up on black paper.

Heinous?  Not really.  My first thought was someone playing with Photoshop or some such thing.  It’s not an improvement or a new take on the piece, it’s just a “See what I can do!”  I have a couple of icons like that, and I don’t use them anymore.

What I did like was what I found on Covers and Citations:

http://search.it.online.fr/covers/

and:

and:

and:

and:

I like these.  I can’t really call any of the above as a Heinous Reproduction, and I liked looking at the other offerings on the site.

I thought this would be a fun blog to do and rip on shitty stuff that people actually thought was worthy of their walls, but i have found so much more. This is not to say if we find crazy ass shit on etsy or whatever that we won’t make serious fun of it, because we will.  It’s great because I find some great stuff while looking for some shitty stuff, and that’s always a plus.

Leave a Reply

